Captains Dinner Logo
to top
Portugiesische Blätterteigtörtchen Pastéis de Belém

Pastéis de Belém

March 9th, 2018 | bread & pastries

Admittedly, the original we tried during our shore leave in Lisbon tasted even better. This certainly has atmospheric reasons. Anyhow, I’ve tried many recipes for Portugal enthusiasts – and here’s one that really works, is simple, and comes very close to the original.

Pastéis de Belém

The cream patties were invented in the famous Jerónimos Monastery in Belém. They have been manufactured in the no less famous Confeitaria Pastéis de Belém near the monastery since 1837 (!). Unbelievable 20,000 tartlets per day, according to the old secret recipe and everything actually still by hand in a „glass“ bakery.

The monastery has been designated a World Heritage Site. I think UNESCO should urgently consider making Pastéis de Belém a culinary heritage. They taste heavenly good. By the way, in the rest of Portugal these cream cakes are called Pastéis de Nata – Nata for cream.

Pastéis de Belém / Pastéis de Nata

(makes 12 tartlets)

600 g frozen puff pastry
thaw the dough
8 egg yolks
beat with the blender and pour through a sieve into a saucepan, add
500 ml cream
150 g sugar
1 ts grated lemon peel
heat slowly, stirring constantly
1 TS cornstarch
stir with some water and add to the egg mixture, simmer briefly until the mass becomes thick, take from the fire and allow to cool (stirring occasionally, otherwise forms a skin)
cut out of the puff pastry circles (Ø12 cm) and line greased muffin molds with it, pierce the dough on the ground several times with a fork
1 TS Grand Marnier (can be omitted)
drizzle dough with some Grand Marnier, then fill in the eggs mixture
bake at 220 ° C for about 30 minutes, the top of the tartlets should be caramelized and golden brown, if necessary you can place the tartlets briefly under the grill
1 ts cinnamon
1 TS sugar
mix, serve sprinkled with cinnamon-sugar

And this is how the wife of the captain does it:

This recipe leaves 8 egg whites. Please do not throw it away! Either you bake Macarons or Amaretti the next day, or you can freeze them in portions. Then you can use the frozen whites for baking or, for example, in a scrambled egg.

Leave me a message

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

venison fillet under a walnut and herb crust with physalis sauteed in butter, fried polenta slices and an elderberry gravy February 14th, 2020 | main dishes

Venison fillet with walnut and herb crust and elderberry gravy

Valentine’s Day – and unfortunately no smiley in the calendar… That means my dearest captain is at sea… and so there is no Valentine’s Captain’s Dinner this year 🙁 . For those who have their loved one at home and want to spoil them with a feast, I have exactly the right recipe here: venison fillet with walnut and herb crust and fine side dishes!

read more
Octopus Galician style served on a wooden plate January 30th, 2018 | starter

Octopus Galician style

Pulpo á la Gallega or Pulpo á feira (carnival style) is the name of this artful, but simple dish that you can eat everywhere in the streets of Barcelona’s port area. A traditional dish, which uses dried Octopus on the big festivals. Anyhow, in the bars in the “Barrio Gótico” in Barcelona’s gothic quarter, cooked Octopus is used. Our favorite shore leave place in Barcelona is the tapas bar “Celta Pulpería“. Anyone who should believe the preparation of Pulpo á feira is difficult, definitely is wrong!

read more
Gin Calamansi Fruits October 16th, 2018 | Landgänge

Gin & Calamansi from the Philippines

A small bottle of gin, brought by a very, very dear colleague on board set this story in motion: The petite Filipino lady handed my dearest captain a farewell bottle of Philippine gin. “We’ll drink it in the Philippines with calamansi fruit, never with lemon, Captain!”, she said with a smile.

read more

Subscribe

Just enter your data, and you will be notified of the latest posts.

Captains Dinner Logo
to top
Portugiesische Blätterteigtörtchen Pastéis de Belém

Pastéis de Belém

9. März 2018 | Brot & Gebäck

Zugegeben, das Original beim Landgang in Lissabon schmeckt noch besser. Das hat sicherlich atmosphärische Gründe. Dennoch habe ich mich für alle Portugal-Enthusiasten durch viele Rezepte geprobt – und hier ist eines, das wirklich funktioniert, einfach ist, und dem Original sehr nahe kommt.

Pastéis de Belém

Erfunden wurden die Sahnepastetchen im berühmten Hieronymuskloster in Belém, sagt man. Seit 1837 (!) werden sie in der nicht minder berühmten Confeitaria Pastéis de Belém ganz in der Nähe des Klosters gebacken. Unglaubliche 20.000 Törtchen pro Tag, nach altem Geheimrezept und alles tatsächlich noch in Handarbeit in einer „gläsernen“ Backstube.

Das Kloster ist zum Weltkulturerbe ernannt worden. Ich finde, die UNESCO sollte dringend darüber nachdenken, die Pastéis de Belém zum kulinarischen Kulturerbe zu erheben. Sie schmecken einfach himmlisch. Im restlichen Portugal heißen die Sahnetörtchen übrigens Pastéis de Nata – Nata wie Sahne.

Pastéis de Belém / Pastéis de Nata

(ergibt 12 Törtchen)

600 g TK Blätterteig
auftauen
8 Eigelbe
mit dem Mixer aufschlagen und durch ein Sieb in einen Kochtopf geben
500 ml Sahne
150 g Zucker
1 TL abgeriebene Zitronenschale
dazugeben, unter ständigem Rühren langsam erhitzen
1 EL Stärkemehl
mit etwas Wasser anrühren und in die Eiermasse geben, kurz köcheln, bis die Masse dicklich wird, vom Feuer nehmen und abkühlen lassen (dabei gelegentlich umrühren, sonst bildet sich eine Haut)
Aus dem Blätterteig Kreise (Ø12 cm) ausstechen und gefettete Muffin-Förmchen damit auskleiden, den Teig am Boden mit einer Gabel mehrfach einstechen
1 EL Grand Marnier (kann auch weggelassen werden)
Teigboden mit etwas Grand Marnier beträufeln, dann die Eiermasse einfüllen
Bei 220° C etwa 30 Minuten backen, die Oberseite der Törtchen soll karamellisieren und goldbraun sein, ggfs. dazu noch kurz unter den Grill schieben
1 TL Zimt
1 EL Zucker
mischen, mit Zimtzucker bestreut servieren

Und so macht das die Frau vom Kapitän:

Bei diesem Rezept bleiben 8 Eiweiße übrig. Bitte nicht wegwerfen! Entweder du backst am nächsten Tag Macarons oder Amaretti oder du frierst sie portionsweise ein. Das tiefgefrorene Eiweiß kannst du dann zum Backen oder beispielsweise in einem Rührei weiter verwenden.

Hinterlass mir eine Nachricht

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

BBQ im Mai: Rehbraten im Heubett 1. Mai 2019 | Hauptgerichte

BBQ im Mai: Rehbraten im Heubett

Wild mal anders: Nicht winterlich mit dunkler Sauce und Knödeln, sondern frühlingshaft vom Grill. Würziges Wiesenheu und Limette geben dem Fleisch ein unverwechselbares, frisches Aroma. So schmeckt der Frühling!

Weiterlesen
Giersch-Tarte 3. April 2019 | Hauptgerichte

Giersch-Tarte – von wegen Unkraut!

Giersch, das als „Gärtner-Schreck“ bekannte sogenannte Unkraut, gilt als unausrottbar. Was man dagegen tun kann? Esst es doch einfach auf! Giersch ist köstlich (und so gesund) in Salaten, als Limonade, Pesto oder – wie in meinem Rezept – als Giersch Tarte.

Weiterlesen
Seeteufel mit Sepia-Spaghetti und Tomaten-Vanille-Sauce 10. Oktober 2018 | Hauptgerichte

Seeteufel – ein Fischgericht der Extraklasse

Seeteufel ist generell eine Delikatesse, keine Frage. In diesem Rezept kommt der feste Fisch mit schwarzen, meeres-aromatischen Spaghetti daher. Zusammen mit der Tomatensauce, die mit Vodka abgelöscht und mit Vanille verfeinert wird, überzeugt der Teller nicht nur durch starke, leuchtende Farben. Kräftige Aromen, bissfester Fisch und Pasta – und das alles abgerundet mit ein wenig frischer Minze. Ein Fest für alle Sinne!

Weiterlesen

Anmelden

Trage hier einfach deine Daten ein, damit Du über die neusten Beiträge benachrichtigt wirst.